What the people are saying…

Matt Gibbons, Ex  Radio Student BCFE

”We can’t loose BCFE because its good for the area and with it there it will drive more students to Ballyfermot and in doing this it will drive local business’s and everybody will be working together to improve this”

BCFE logo

Dan Pitcher, Sports Reporter FM 104, Ex Radio Student BCFE

”I was recently shocked to learn that courses in Ballyfermot College are under threat. It would be a devastating blow to the world of Media in Ireland if the college was lost. Ballyfermot has an excellent reputation in people getting into work in the industry after OR during study. The practical aspects of the media courses and the support of the teaching staff(Some of whom were/are in the business themselves) is just part of the reason Ballyfermot has such a brilliant reputation. I really hope someone with a brain cell is able to keep the college going…it would be a disaster of epic proportions if the college were to close”

Michaela Hayes, Works for Radio Nova Ireland, Ex Radio Student BCFE

”The thing I like most about Ballyer is the classes are tiny and you get to know everyone and your lectures.. I’m dyslexic and all the teachers in BCFE spent loads of extra time with me going over stuff I didn’t get in order to make sure did well.. If I was in a bigger college that wouldn’t have happened and I would of dropped out and never done anything with my life.. I also still talk to loads of the lecturers to this day and if it wasn’t for Bernard I wouldn’t have my job in Nova now”

Jay Coghlan,

”BCFE has established itself as a leader in animators( past students have won Grammys) radio presenters( Rick o Shea) musicians( Wallis Bird, Damien Dempsey, Micky Joe Harte, Mundy) artist! It also offers a way to continue into a degree course”

Emma Duggan, Ex Media Student, BCFE

You only have to look at the amazing credibility of so many BCFE alumni to realise the skills and careers people have gained from BCFE. The staff and facilities give students some of the best preparation for the real world! Judging from my own 3 years spent there studying media, money should be spent on further developing the facilities this college offers. I say all this only on the knowledge of the media/art/music aspect of the college which I am familiar with. Personally BCFE was always my 1st choice of college in 6th year, the CAO didnt have much effect on me because I knew I only wanted to go to BCFE because of it’s brilliant reputation for media which i wanted to study. Speaking from experience, the loss of BCFE would be more than closing down a college of further education it would be depriving people of an education and experience in a place that I can only say rises above the college of further education status. This place deserves to grow out of this status and into a college or IT in the future, not be taken away from us.

Jeanne Colwell, Ex BCFE Lecturer in Law

BCFE has produced a long line of ultra-successful graduates. I’ve lost count of the amount of times I’ve been told by people working in industry that they would always favor employing a graduate from BCFE over others as they have been taught how to do the job properly and not just the theory behind it. This sets BCFE apart from other Further Education colleges and it should therefore be treated as an exception to the new SOLAS bill rather than suffer as a result of it. To lose the college as we know it would be tantamount to gross negligence on the part of the decision-makers.”

Journalism graduate seeking work. Irish and proud. All views are my own.

Posted in Interviews, Whats Next for BCFE

Leave a comment

Follow me on Twitter
Archives